Sanctuary Advisory Council CHANNEL ISLANDS NATIONAL MARINE SANCTUARY

Member/Alternate

Tourism

Andrea Mills / Garrett Kababik

Business

Michael Cohen / Capt. Kip Louttit

Non-Consumptive Recreation
Debra Herring / Stuart Wilson

Commercial Fishing
Bruce Steele / Stephanie Mutz

Recreational Fishing
Capt. David Bacon / Merit McCrea

Education

Amanda Allen / Cliff Rodrigues

Research

Dr. Robert Warner / Dr. Mark Steele

Conservation Kristi Birney / Greg Helms

Public At-Large 1 Phyllis Grifman / Victor Cox

Public At-Large 2
Eric Kett / Rich Block

Chumash Community Luhui Isha Waiya / Mati Waiya

National Marine Fisheries Service Elizabeth Petras / Shelby Mendez

National Park Service Russell Galipeau / David Ashe

U.S. Coast Guard LCDR Casey Hehr / LCDR Joseph Giammanco

Bureau of Ocean Energy Management Donna Schroeder / Dr. Ann Bull

> U.S. Department of Defense John Ugoretz / Walter Schobel

California Department of Fish and Game Dr. Craig Shuman / Kai Lampson

California Resources Agency Rich Rozzelle / Amy Vierra

California Coastal Commission
Dr. Jonna Engel / Kristen Hislop

County of Santa Barbara
Dianne Black / <vacant>

County of Ventura
Danielle Tarr / <vacant>

Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary
Chris Mobley [non-voting]

Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary
Paul Michel / Karen Grimmer [non-voting]

Gulf of the Farallones National Marine Sanctuary

Maria Brown / Brian Johnson [non-voting]

Chair: Dianne Black Vice Chair: Phyllis Grifman Secretary: Michael Cohen January 23, 2015

Group Project Selection Committee Bren School of Environmental Science and Management 2400 Bren Hall, University of California Santa Barbara Santa Barbara, California 93106-5131

Dear Group Project Selection Committee:

The Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary Advisory Council (SAC) is a 21-member body that brings together community members and representatives from government agencies to advise the Sanctuary Superintendent and the National Oceanic Atmospheric Administration. The Sanctuary's mission is to provide long-term protection to its nationally significant marine resources, while facilitating compatible human uses.

Since 2008 the SAC has been interested in measures to reduce the impact of vessel strikes on endangered whales, including incentive-based approaches to vessel speed reduction. We tracked a pilot Vessel Speed Reduction (VSR) trial that took place in 2014 and are encouraged by the success of the trial to support further exploration of this approach.

We write to express support for a proposed University of California, Santa Barbara Bren School group project titled: *Vessel Speed Reduction, Air Pollution, and Whale Strike Tradeoffs in the Santa Barbara Channel Region: Solution-oriented Integration of Health and Ecosystem Service Valuation*. Ms. Shannon Walker, Ms. Jennifer Bone, and Ms. Kendall Mills, students proposing the project, presented to us at our January 23, 2015 meeting. We believe their project will advance the body of work to date and our collective understanding of these issues.

We support this collaborative research project because it builds on existing data, fulfills identified research needs, and contributes to the Sanctuary's mission. We look forward to providing the Advisory Council process to the Bren students as forum to share and guide their progress.

Sincerely,

Dianne Black, Chair, Sanctuary Advisory Council¹

Attachment: Council voting record.

lanne M. Black

¹ The council is an advisory body to the sanctuary superintendent. The opinions and findings of this letter do not necessarily reflect the position of the sanctuary and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

ATTACHMENT:

Voting Record for Letter of Support to UCSB Bren School for Proposed Graduate Student Thesis Project, from Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary Advisory Council January 23, 2015

Voting Seat	Voting Individual	<u>Vote</u>
Tourism	Andrea Mills	
	Garrett Kababik - alternate	Y
Non-Consumptive Recreation	Debra Herring	Y
	Stuart Wilson – alternate	
Business	Michael Cohen [Council Secretary]	Y
	Capt. Kip Louttit – alternate	
Conservation	Kristi Birney	Y
	Greg Helms – alternate	
Commercial Fishing	Bruce Steele	Y
	Stephanie Mutz – alternate	
Recreational Fishing	Capt. David Bacon	Y
	Merit McCrea – alternate	
Education	Amanda Allen	
	Cliff Rodrigues – alternate	Y
Research	Dr. Robert Warner	Y
	Dr. Mark Steele – alternate	
Public At Large #1	Phyllis Grifman [Council Vice-Chair]	Y
	Richard Block – alternate	
Public At Large #2	Eric Kett	
	Victor Cox – alternate	Y
Chumash Community	Luhui Isha Waiya	Y
	Mati Waiya – alternate	
NOAA Fisheries	Elizabeth Petras	
	Shelby Mendez – alternate	
National Park Service	Russell Galipeau	
	David Ashe – alternate	
US Coast Guard	CDR Casey Hehr	
	LT CMDR Joseph Giammanco – alt.	
Bureau of Ocean Energy Mgmt (BOEM) Dept. of Defense	Donna Schroeder	Y
	Dr. Ann Bull – alternate	<u>I</u>
	John Ugoretz	
	Walt Schobel – alternate	Y
CA Dept. of Fish & Wildlife	Dr. Craig Shuman	L
	Kai Lampson - alternate	
	Rich Rozzelle	V
CA Natural Resources Agency		Y
CA Coastal Commission Santa Barbara County	Amy Vierra – alternate Dr. Jonna Engel	
		W
	Kristen Hislop Diagna Plack [Council Chair]	Y
	Dianne Black [Council Chair]	Y
Ventura County	<pre><vacant></vacant></pre>	
	Danielle Tarr	Y
	<vacant></vacant>	

YES: $\underline{17}$ ABSTAIN: $\underline{0}$ NO: $\underline{0}$